Remnants of Remembrance

“…when pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure.”
(Jane Austen)


Scars are but evidence of life. Evidence of
choices to be learned from, evidence of wounds, wounds inflicted by memories. Memories are like bullets. Some whiz by and only spook you. Others tear you open and leave you in pieces. Sometimes the scars remind you that you survived; sometimes they tell you that you have healed. Scars fade with time. And the ones that never go away, well, they build character, maturity, and caution.


Memories leave a light in the eyes, just as plain as scars.
 Versification of one such estranged and dyspnoeic moment, when painful memories and a torturous migraine decided to waltz in unison, presented in the form of a set of Haikus and two poignant melodies:


PROLOGUE


***

On the skin of love,   

A tremble of touch, a cry:

The fading birthmark.

***

Drops of memories,

The heart pitter-patters, slow

Five comets fly by.

With momentous pomp

The scar of destiny mocks,

Impenitently.

A mouse digging deep,

Impulses numb yet lurid

The devil nods, smiles.

Inside each neuron,

A silent Buddha waiting

For the blind sculptor.

Borrowing slumber

From the scarecrow’s folded sleeves;

Midnight frost seeps deep.

Dark chill smothering

The edges, the heart beats null 

Rhythmic flow of light.

***

An incoming tide

Crashes gently on the beach:

The fading footprints.

***


EPILOGUE


Copyright © 2012-2013 Tanumoy Biswas and The Nomadic Soliloquist. All Rights Reserved.

48 comments on “Remnants of Remembrance

  1. …… Silent, speechless I sit

    “Inside each neuron,
    A silent Buddha waiting
    For the blind sculptor.”

    …… You’ve said it all. None left to be known.
    I shall return when words haven’t vowed to fail me.

  2. Scars and wounds are a part of life, wounds heal, but on the other hand, scars are the badges of courage and remembrance of the day when the finest battle was fought.
    Sturdy words, the write-up is brilliant with the poems being heavy and melancholic. My kind of post, liked it a lot.

    • Indeed, sir… and speaking more than words will ever do.
      Thank you for dropping by and gracing this meek corner with your majestic presence. I have lot of reading to do of your masterpieces, will visit soon! 🙂

  3. Tanumoy, you just reached new heights…

    It made for such a wonderful read… the music accentuates every thought till everything else seems numbed out…

    “Memories leave a light in the eyes, just as plain as scars.”

    I could not agree more. Such depth in a single line… *deep in pleasant thoughts… smiles*
    *multiple bows*

    • Ah, thank you so much Mamta… you humble me greatly! I was in a lot of dilemma while penning down this, confused about whether this is worth a post or not… you brought a smile now! *bow back* 🙂

  4. Knight, today I leave no comments for I don’t think I could…

    … You are amazing and need I say anything more.

      • Of course… for every drop of rain, a flower grows, or in the words of Leonard Cohen, “There is a crack in everything. That is how light gets in.” It’s those little cracks and dings received over the years that teach us what love is and what isn’t… they make us who we are and help us to be capable of receiving the light of love. I suppose what I meant in my first case is pain teaches us how to carry one another’s hearts with small handprints, so as not to create permanent damage when we cause pain. But in all ways, I eagerly await your next inspiration for me.

        • Ah, you are too wise and sweet… that quote by Cohen is one of my favourites! Marks and prints are what determine how adventurous life can truly be! Really admire the counter-inspiration you pour me with… I shall think of something, what next to write. 🙂

    • Ah! You never cease to amaze me with your gifts. I’m a bit late in checking this. Thank you so much! I gleefully accept it and will complete the formalities soonest. Cheers! 🙂

  5. It takes more than just efforts, sometimes
    riverie of memory, it just flows, flow isn’t always so even, oddities stretched
    along the tracks, debris obstructing
    the flow, left alone, alone sloppy and enraged
    we do what anybody would do, actions-reactions
    without much ado…

    • Wow! Your words are always so profound, reflecting the superior domain of your thoughts. Thank you for the lovely words, Jyoti.

      (Still in awe of those lines… will flow with them for sometime.)

  6. This touched my heart with those memories that I had hidden deep in me, back in time, never to dig again… made me cry, so I will not read anymore as it’s a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and I have decided to cry no more my friend… That’s how deep your words have an effect I can say.

  7. Ooh, I loved the Haikus, especially the last one! ❤ You're brilliant with poetry and words. And it carried even beautiful and deep meanings. Yes, I agree with you, the purpose of joy and the way it winds up in pain all constitutes life. I don't want to rephrase what you've written… Just know that your words have hit somewhere home 😉
    Keep the pen going, keep the words flowing out like this. Amazing, totally! 😀

  8. Pingback: Remnants of Remembrance | loosepen

Open up your Heart...