Illusions: A Journey through Instrumentals

“Ah, music,” he said, wiping his eyes. “A magic beyond all we do here!” 
(J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

Life is much like a song. In the beginning, there is mystery; in the end, there is confirmation… but it’s in the middle where all the emotion resides to make the whole thing worthwhile.  Some people have lives; some people have music. Music is in fact a higher revelation than all wisdom & philosophy. Even the great Albert Einstein quipped: “If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music.”

Music is to the soul what words are to the mind; it is the wine that fills the cup of silence. Like it’s said, everything in the universe has a rhythm, everything dances. And this rhythm gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything. It can name the unnameable and communicate the unknowable. It is the universal language of mankind.

Where words leave off, music begins. My first attempt at writing a Haiku (an outcome of being intoxicated with music):            

                                 Enwrapped and beguiled

                                    Music nurtures my lone dreams

                                       Swallowing me whole


The Fête de la Musique, also known as World Music Day, is an annual music festival taking place on June 21 in cities around the world. In a 1982 study on the cultural habits of the French, Maurice Fleuret (then Director of Music in the Ministry of Culture) concluded that among five million people, one child out of two played a musical instrument; he then began to dream of a way to bring people out on the streets, bound by music. And so World Music Day was initiated in 1982 in Paris as the Fête de la Musique. Ever since then, the festival has become an international phenomenon, celebrated annually on June 21 in more than 460 cities of 110 countries.


Instrumentals have always intrigued me… probably because I can insert thoughts of my own, and not be guided by lyrics. Here’s a collection of some lesser known musicals from my locker.
So let’s celebrate with these… ’cause the only truth is music!


1. Met Her in Temple

Album: N/A – A romantic theme, based on the raga Reethigowlai.
Artist: Composed and Orchestrated by Balamurali Balu; Flute by Vijay Venkatesh Kannan.
Genre: Carnatic music.


2. Folkloflûte

Album: N/A.
Artist: Lyod.
Genre: Folkloric; Trip-hop.


3. Manon Theme

Album: ‘Manon’, a dance performance directed and choreographed by Kimiho Hulbert (2012). (Original story by Abbé Prévost’s Manon Lescaut).
Artist: Akira Kosemura.
Genre: Classical; Contemporary; Ballet.


4. Primi Passi

Album: “Viandanze” (2009).
Artist: Fabrizio Paterlini.
Genre: Neo-Classical.


5. The Long Walk

Album: N/A.
Artist: Lyod.
Genre: New Age.


6. Hægt, kemur ljósið

Album: ‘…and they have escaped the weight of darkness’ (2010).
Artist: Olafur Arnalds.
Genre: Post-Classical.


7. Hridoye Mondrilo Domoru

Album: N/A.
Artist: Sumanta Basu (Harmonica).
Genre: Rabindranath Tagore’s Songs.


8. Maiden in the Nude

Album: N/A – At a royal durbar in ancient India, present are all the dignitaries from the king, ministers to the priests. Kalyani, the official court dancer tries to seduce the young royal prince while everyone watches on in interest. A sonic interpretation from Karthick Iyer Live.
Artist: Violin, vocals by Karthick Iyer; Veda chant by B. Srinivasan.
Genre: Carnatic Lounge; Meditation.


9. Océan

Album: N/A.
Artist: Lyod.
Genre: Ambient; Contemporary.


10. On A Winter’s Night

Album: Project Ascolta.
Artist: Dirk Maassen.
Genre: Contemporary.


11. Behind the Sky

Album: Live @ Digitube Studio (2013).
Artist: Fabrizio Paterlini.
Genre: Modern Classical.


12. Salute to Tradition

Album: N/A.
Artist: Himanshu Bakshi.
Genre: Indian Classical; Contemporary.


13. Echo

Album: N/A.
Artist: Lyod.
Genre: Chill-out.


14. Amar Bela Je Jaay

Album: N/A.
Artist: Suman Ghose.
Genre: Rabindranath Tagore’s Songs.


15. Federico García Lorca

Album: N/A – dedicated to Spanish poet, dramatist and theatre director, Federico García Lorca.
Artist:
Fivos Valachis.
Genre: New Age; Ambient; Piano solo.


16. The Gate

Album: N/A – A cross-instrumental collaboration: a wonderful journey to a strange and mystical world.
Artist: Dirk Maassen with Lyod.
Genre: Contemporary.


17. Aguner Poroshmoni

Album: N/A.
Artist: Arijit Dey.
Genre: Rabindranath Tagore’s Songs.


18. Ascension

Album: N/A.
Artist: Lyod.
Genre: Contemporary.


19. Uyire Uyire / Tu Hi Re

Album: Flute Version of the A R Rahman number Tu Hi Re from the film Bombay.
Artist: Flute Man.
Genre: Bollywood.


20. Pearl of Dream

Album: N/A.
Artist: Noour Mohammed.
Genre: Egyptian contemporary.


21. Lovely Leitrim

Album: N/A – Traditional Irish folk song originally written by Phil Fitzpatrick in the early 1900s.
Artist: Royalty Free Kings.
Genre: Irish-Celtic Folk.


22. Russian Attractions (Instrumental)

Album: N/A – Recreated from the song Russian Attractions by the French singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Sébastien Tellier.
Artist: Pilotpriest.
Genre: New Age.


23. Samba Pa Tí

Album: N/A – Recreated from the number Samba Pa Ti by Mexican-American musician Carlos Santana.
Artist: Kaiii Kumut.
Genre: Latin American.


24. Sarangi

Album: N/A – Theme song used in a play.
Artist: Sumit Roy.
Genre: Indian Classical.


25. Gypsy Dance (Cover)

Album: N/A – Cover of Gypsy Dance, originally by Ghanim Haddad, Iraq’s leading classical music icon.
Artist: Ahmad Damen.
Genre: Middle-eastern Folk.


26. Old Waltz

Album: N/A.
Artist: Serge Seletskyy.
Genre: Waltz; Neo-Classical.


27. Romance de Amor

Album: N/A – Theme music of French film ‘Jeux interdits’.
Artist: Shinsuke Sumitomo.
Genre: Spanish Folk.


28. Summertime Riddim

Album: Dymension Sound.
Artist: Jay Hilton.
Genre: Reggae.


29. Roman Holidays

Album: Amore & Cinema (Romantic Italian Melodies).
Artist: Amore.
Genre: Italian soundtrack.


30. Kisna Theme

Album: N/A – Flute-piano version of the A R Rahman number Hum Hain Iss Pal Yahan from the film Kisna.
Artist: Aravind Pn.
Genre: Bollywood.

 


I have intentionally chosen compositions by lesser known musicians to highlight their wonderful contribution to the field of music. Hope you enjoyed them, and feel free to post any form of music, ideas or suggestions as comments. Cheers!


Copyright © 2012-2013 Tanumoy Biswas and The Nomadic Soliloquist. All Rights Reserved.                             

56 comments on “Illusions: A Journey through Instrumentals

  1. Music is the universal language, it’s true. I too love instrumentals. When I can close my eyes, and allow the instruments, chords, and tunes to carry me up, up, and away… That is magic. Thank you, Tanumoy. Also, I loved the haiku.

    • Thank you so much, Jessica! Absolutely agree with you… it makes me fly higher too! Magic in every sense! 🙂

      (11 new tracks added from No. 20 to 30. Check them too! You might like a few… 🙂 )

  2. Oh my dear friend, I didn’t know that you were so very fond of music. It makes me very happy because I was born in music. Music is my whole life which I am also trying to put into my writings A clinging melody is always wreathed in my words and the words are dressed in Nature… in flowers and beauty which give us and the reader a living picture… together, with our beauty, making it into a painting. Just as you are doing in you writings. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the music. Kerstin

    • You described the feel so beautifully! Thank you so much for your magical words. It’s always a pleasure to have you here. 🙂

      (11 new tracks added from No. 20 to 30. Check them too! You might like a few… 🙂 )

  3. O nomadic knight, you never cease to amaze me… at times with your words, at times with your thoughts, and at times for the wonderful person you are. I loved this one, for music is closest to my heart as well, and for the wonderful collection you have so wonderfully shared with us.

    • Ah Princess, you humble me every time… and I end up purring in delight, instead of the usual roar… 😛
      Thank you so much! Your presence here adds more beauty to every word. 🙂

      (11 new tracks added from No. 20 to 30. Check them too! You might like a few… 🙂 )

  4. Music indeed soothes our souls… and you have done justice to it by explaining its importance so well. Keep up the great work, Tanumoy da. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Juned! And I must say, your constant encouragement is to be accredited for every successful post. Thanks again, mate! 🙂

      (11 new tracks added from No. 20 to 30. Check them too! You might like a few… 🙂 )

  5. I sat in silence and raised the “chalice” you offered to the lips of the soul. I have always been besotted by Rabindra Sangeet. Oh I know I shall be spending the whole night intoxicated by these particular “paimane”.

    ‘Maiden in the Nude’, Sumanta Basu’s ‘Hridoye Mondrilo Domoru’…
    Ah, though Noour Mohammed’s ‘Pearl of Dreams’s “ney” blew right into the soul — I know I shall drift till dawn in Sumit Roy’s ‘Sarangi’…

    Huzoor, a profound treasure you have here! Shall visit here again and again, as I know this shall become my “secret haven” on full-moon nights like these, when I sip your wine in an absence that feels like a presence.

    *smiles at him, feeling like a Kalyani*

    • I always knew your alchemy with words and taste for music walk hand-in-hand. And that’s clearly evident in your thoughts above.
      A treasure this is not, I shall call it an offering. Take it, take it all… that we may have more elixirs of your amazing creativity here. 🙂

      So, are we getting a masterpiece on Kalyani from the Silent Fingers soon? *trying to tempt her for her next poetic venture* 😉

  6. It’s impossible to think of even a single day without music…
    I’m an instrumental enthusiast myself… my drive is full of them. 🙂

    No words, just beats and the vibrations…
    Like everything just falls perfect at that time… I’m going to listen to all of them, when time permits. 🙂

    • Ah, another instrumental lover here! 😀
      So agree with what you wrote. Like Bob Marley once said: “One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.”

      Do visit whenever you wish to, all yours. 🙂

    • Wow! I can’t express what joy you brought with so many lovely gifts! Any thanksgiving shall be an understatement but still, THANK YOU! 😀
      I accept all of them, and request you to allow me some time to follow up the awards with the formal written acceptance. As of now, all stored inside my heart! Yay! *kiddish kangaroo jumps around* 😛

  7. Ahhh music, my first love, before writing, before reading, I had music. Being a musician for the last 20+ years is what I consider my greatest asset. I would be lost without my instruments and my stacks of sheet music for each.

    As for my favorite part of this post, it must be this sentence, because it is so true!
    ” but it’s in the middle where all the emotion resides to make the whole thing worthwhile.” The middle, where everything happens is what gives music its character and beauty. What a beautiful way to express the very best thing in the world.

    And thank you for sharing all the music links, they are all just so beautiful! A wonderful way to start out my Monday 🙂

    • Hehe! Thank you. I’m glad you liked this offering of mine. 🙂
      Aha! Seems like we have a musician here… so, when do we get to hear some of your melody? *cutest puppy face like Max makes when sensing tasty food* 😛

  8. Hello my good friend. Just decided to have a good read, and your blog was one of my points of call. I calculated rightly.

    Good to know you are also a “musician” 🙂 I am, even though I am not known like Michael Jackson. Your post really brought out the beauty and the power in music. If music be the food of the soul, play on brother… 🙂 nice to connect with you again 🙂

Open up your Heart...

